Skip to content
Lincolnshire Counts — Lincolnshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Holland, in numbers

People and living standards: South Holland

South Holland local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Holland local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 67,494 in 1991 to 100,758 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Holland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,416 people in 1996; 100,758 people in 2025. 41.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Holland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199167,494
199268,471
199369,198
199470,282
199571,031
199671,416
199772,338
199873,576
199974,377
200075,612
200176,714
200277,918
200379,299
200480,832
200581,696
200683,158
200784,506
200885,957
200986,987
201087,905
201188,390
201288,502
201389,046
201489,914
201590,802
201691,970
201792,587
201892,964
201993,467
202094,029
202195,490
202297,274
202398,533
202499,638
2025100,758
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Holland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,613 people in 1996; 16,876 people in 2025. 33.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Holland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,890
199212,001
199312,153
199412,418
199512,511
199612,613
199712,752
199812,945
199913,171
200013,477
200113,731
200213,989
200314,180
200414,421
200514,453
200614,423
200714,562
200814,772
200914,827
201014,876
201114,840
201214,825
201314,875
201415,093
201515,116
201615,403
201715,595
201815,762
201915,897
202015,884
202116,191
202216,563
202316,797
202416,928
202516,876
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Holland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,064 people in 1996; 59,356 people in 2025. 34.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Holland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199142,444
199242,894
199343,141
199443,653
199544,013
199644,064
199744,505
199845,107
199945,335
200045,826
200146,331
200246,969
200347,728
200448,688
200549,309
200650,590
200751,665
200852,520
200953,163
201053,624
201153,720
201253,152
201353,084
201453,396
201553,999
201654,652
201755,009
201855,046
201955,181
202055,578
202156,491
202257,418
202358,047
202458,627
202559,356
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Holland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,739 people in 1996; 24,526 people in 2025. 66.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Holland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,160
199213,576
199313,904
199414,211
199514,507
199614,739
199715,081
199815,524
199915,871
200016,309
200116,652
200216,960
200317,391
200417,723
200517,934
200618,145
200718,279
200818,665
200918,997
201019,405
201119,830
201220,525
201321,087
201421,425
201521,687
201621,915
201721,983
201822,156
201922,389
202022,567
202122,808
202223,293
202323,689
202424,083
202524,526
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 95,122 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Holland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1761.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5170.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,2251.3%
White91,62396.3%
Other ethnic group5810.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 88,270 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Holland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White86,37097.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7960.9%
Asian/Asian British7470.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2570.3%
Other ethnic group1000.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 76,522 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Holland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White75,64198.8%
Mixed3400.4%
Asian/Asian British2290.3%
Black/Black British1150.2%
Chinese/Other1970.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 15.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Holland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,283 per person in 1997; £21,847 per person in 2024. 112.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Holland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,283
199810,452
199910,848
200011,288
200111,657
200211,878
200312,219
200412,520
200512,996
200613,210
200713,915
200814,060
200914,309
201014,486
201114,747
201215,272
201315,587
201416,123
201516,576
201616,610
201717,070
201817,256
201917,517
202017,715
202118,581
202219,278
202320,487
202421,847
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Holland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -3.1% in 1997; -15.9% in 2024. 12.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Holland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-3.1
1998-3.5
1999-4.1
2000-5.2
2001-5.8
2002-6.1
2003-6.3
2004-7.7
2005-7.6
2006-9.8
2007-9.3
2008-10.7
2009-10.6
2010-10.3
2011-9.5
2012-9.6
2013-11
2014-10.8
2015-12.9
2016-13.7
2017-13.4
2018-15.5
2019-16.9
2020-15.6
2021-14.9
2022-16.1
2023-16.2
2024-15.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.3%

21 March 2021 · South Holland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.6%

21 March 2021 · South Holland local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.6%

21 March 2021 · South Holland local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · South Holland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£227,000

July 2026 · South Holland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£775

August 2026 · South Holland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.