Skip to content
Lincolnshire Counts — Lincolnshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Kesteven, in numbers

People and living standards: South Kesteven

South Kesteven local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Kesteven local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 109,524 in 1991 to 148,069 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Kesteven council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 120,071 people in 1996; 148,069 people in 2025. 23.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Kesteven council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991109,524
1992111,024
1993112,603
1994115,168
1995117,512
1996120,071
1997121,930
1998123,013
1999123,622
2000124,190
2001124,877
2002125,485
2003126,209
2004127,129
2005127,665
2006128,966
2007130,196
2008131,218
2009132,188
2010133,144
2011134,125
2012135,092
2013136,342
2014138,082
2015138,915
2016140,409
2017141,116
2018141,616
2019142,212
2020142,869
2021143,751
2022144,295
2023146,145
2024147,049
2025148,069
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Kesteven council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,956 people in 1996; 25,106 people in 2025. 0.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Kesteven council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,922
199223,201
199323,483
199424,085
199524,567
199624,956
199725,230
199825,353
199925,639
200025,691
200125,602
200225,381
200325,352
200425,197
200524,918
200624,875
200724,838
200824,891
200924,804
201024,685
201124,656
201224,673
201324,795
201425,009
201525,222
201625,413
201725,474
201825,481
201925,550
202025,493
202125,277
202225,444
202325,707
202425,297
202525,106
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Kesteven council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,974 people in 1996; 86,910 people in 2025. 14.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Kesteven council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199169,116
199270,006
199370,972
199472,632
199574,156
199675,974
199777,292
199878,015
199977,994
200078,216
200178,695
200279,170
200379,486
200480,071
200580,479
200681,595
200782,400
200882,932
200983,162
201083,404
201183,638
201283,312
201383,437
201484,097
201583,955
201684,552
201784,463
201884,394
201984,317
202084,481
202185,133
202284,950
202385,967
202486,516
202586,910
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Kesteven council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,141 people in 1996; 36,053 people in 2025. 88.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Kesteven council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,486
199217,817
199318,148
199418,451
199518,789
199619,141
199719,408
199819,645
199919,989
200020,283
200120,580
200220,934
200321,371
200421,861
200522,268
200622,496
200722,958
200823,395
200924,222
201025,055
201125,831
201227,107
201328,110
201428,976
201529,738
201630,444
201731,179
201831,741
201932,345
202032,895
202133,341
202233,901
202334,471
202435,236
202536,053
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 143,405 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Kesteven · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,5291.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8750.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,9511.4%
White137,42195.8%
Other ethnic group6290.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 133,788 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Kesteven · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White130,39497.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1420.9%
Asian/Asian British1,5801.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5090.4%
Other ethnic group1630.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 124,792 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Kesteven · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White122,83698.4%
Mixed6520.5%
Asian/Asian British5810.5%
Black/Black British1920.2%
Chinese/Other5310.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Kesteven council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,549 per person in 1997; £26,860 per person in 2024. 154.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Kesteven council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,549
199810,767
199911,188
200011,632
200112,092
200212,496
200312,934
200413,543
200514,169
200614,478
200715,461
200815,844
200916,024
201016,338
201116,591
201217,026
201317,387
201417,925
201518,621
201618,621
201719,198
201820,498
201921,347
202021,241
202121,859
202223,000
202324,968
202426,860
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Kesteven council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -0.6% in 1997; 3.4% in 2024. 4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Kesteven council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-0.6
1998-0.6
1999-1.1
2000-2.3
2001-2.3
2002-1.2
2003-0.8
2004-0.2
20050.8
2006-1.1
20070.8
20080.6
20090.1
20101.2
20111.8
20120.8
2013-0.7
2014-0.9
2015-2.1
2016-3.3
2017-2.6
20180.4
20191.3
20201.2
20210.1
20220.2
20232.1
20243.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.8%

21 March 2021 · South Kesteven local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.6%

21 March 2021 · South Kesteven local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.9%

21 March 2021 · South Kesteven local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.8%

21 March 2021 · South Kesteven local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£260,000

July 2026 · South Kesteven local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£845

August 2026 · South Kesteven local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.